Music Mondays #1

I am a Soca lover. It’s Carnival season, which means there is endless new Soca music! I honestly believe that Soca music is the happiest music in the world. It’s almost impossible to listen and not move. And while many people berate Soca music for it’s lack of substance, I think that the fact that it’s just a happy, joyous celebration of Carnival and emotions is what makes it amazing!

That said, every Monday I will share with you my favorite songs for the weekend, what’s on repeat, etc. I will tell you what I am hearing over the radio waves in Trinidad and NYC and you can tell me what you think is hot…or not!

Today’s songs are all somewhat groovy, but the first three especially are in heavy rotation on my Itunes and Ipod. Benjai’s “Trini” is getting heavy radio play and huge forwards and rightly so! I am love with both the melody and lyrics in Kes’ “Wotless”, and Destra’s “Cool it Down” is perfect for a little chip when you need to slow down your pace a bit!

I’m not a huge fan of riddims, but today’s mention goes out to the Girl Scout Riddim. It’s catchy, and Alison’s lyrics in Soca Queen ring true!

My random tune for this week is Tornado by Otis Grenada’s soca monarch and road march winner for 2010. Tornado was produced by Shawn “Mr. Roots” and mastered by Kerwin Du Bois. I love this song!

Benjai – Trini

Kes – Wotless

Destra Garcia – Cool it Down

Girl Scout Riddim featuring:
Alison Hinds – Soca Queen
Nadia Batson – Admiring Me
Patrice Roberts – Jack it Up

Otis – Tornado

Leave a Reply

