The Solus Effect – A conversation with Tony Cross

I had an opportunity to sit down the other day with Tony Cross; formerly the face and voice synonymous with Natural Freaks. Tony recently celebrated his birthday at Solus, an event held at the nightclub SRB Brooklyn. This event turned out to be Tony’s official debut as a solo host and now DJs alongside his cousin Kevin Evil, who was also formerly of Natural Freaks and more recently GBM Sounds. The two have come back together in a pairing that has always been pure vibes.

What is the meaning behind Solus?
Solus is a Latin word that means….Alone…by oneself

What made you decide to go solo after all these years?
I have been blessed to have been able to experience all of the different things that I have in the past 14 years, but at the same time I’ve grown so much, and there’s so much that has changed and evolved since I started out with NF that I feel like that “umbrella” no longer defines who I am. As I’ve matured and gotten older, I’m able to be myself more. I think, in certain ways, being solo and being able to talk about whatever I want, interact with the crowd however I want, has given me the freedom of expression that I needed. When you’re with a group it’s a little different – You’re not just judged by your actions but by the actions of everyone else around you…so you’re always just a little bit more reserved and people just see you as part of the group. Right now, it’s nice to just kind of show people a different side that they haven’t seen and just be me.

What are you most looking forward to?

I’m looking forward to finally seeing my own concepts come to life… from idea to event (start to finish). When you’re part of a group/team it’s kind of sometimes difficult to get everyone to visualize or understand what you envision and to be on the same page. You have to compromise and hold back a piece of yourself…but it was worth the wait I’m extremely excited about that part of it.

What has been the most exciting thing to happen so far?
My first gig after announcing that I was going solo. It was official then that a new chapter of my life had started. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting such a positive response to my solo move. The overwhelming support I’ve received from everyone, friends as well as my peers and others in the music industry has just reinforced for me that I did make the best decision.

When did you know you wanted to be in the music business?

Music is my life! It is something I’ve always been passionate about. I remember playing at my cousin’s wedding in Trinidad and falling in love. I was only 12 but being able to move the crowd and evoke a particular mood or emotion, it was a powerful feeling, and I knew then that it was something I was made for…something I could turn into a career.

You have two sons, are they also interested in music?

My younger son, Yes! He could sing and dance all day long and I must say that even though he’s only 2 going on 3 he can be rather entertaining. His older brother is the opposite. He is 12, and for such a young kid he’s so disciplined when it comes to his school work…he’s far more interested in reading and engaging in things that challenge him academically than music.
What is the one thing about you that people don’t know?

As much as I love traveling…visiting new places…experiencing different cultures…I absolutely HATE flying!

You can look out for Tony in NY, DC, LA, FL, VA, TX, Barbados, Bermuda, England, Toronto and Trinidad. Look out for a new event this Memorial Saturday Kumbia Ya Pump and many other exciting concepts throughout the year.
For booking send an email to Tcross.info@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

